Visit Blackpool

Lightpool Projections

Throughout the traditional Illuminations season, our LightPool projections transform The Blackpool Tower into a sea of light, colour and sound, as a stunning, digitally-mapped multi-media show is projected on to this iconic building.

There are five individual projection shows, including the three headline shows – Down The Rabbit Hole, Chasing Stars (featuring astronaut Tim Peake) and Enchanted Blackpool that are projected nightly throughout our Illuminations season (31 August – 4 November for 2018).

NEW Circus 250 Projection Show

The Circus 250 Projection show is celebrating the vast history of circus and the Blackpool Tower circus. The show begins with Philip Astley, who is responsible for the first ever circus in 1768, who will look back on the glorious history of circus, with a strong emphasis on the Tower circus being the longest continuous circus in Britain! The show will focus on fond memories, sensational acts and larger than life characters from past and present which have inspired entertainment in Blackpool and the rest of the world!

You can be the star of this show! We are requesting that the public send in four still images of themselves which will be used in the projection show so that you can be one of the audience members projected onto Blackpool Tower, and you’ll be animated using these shots! Click here for more information.


Down The Rabbit Hole

Down the Rabbit Hole tells the story of an astronaut exploring new worlds. The show explores a fantasy based loosely upon a remarkable mission of determination and ambition. This experience draws the audience into worlds without gravity: beautiful, fantastic and full of uncertainty.

This incredible show was created by Czech-based digital art collective The Macula, an award-winning company formed in 2007. The team have dazzled audiences throughout Europe with their shows, gaining great acclaim in the UK with a 2011 with Luminious Flux to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Liverpool’s Liver Building.

104-LightPool-Down-the-Rabbit-Hole-200616.jpg
Chasing Stars

Ross Ashton and Karen Monid of The Projection Studio were commissioned created three of our LightPool projection shows, the newest of which is Chasing Stars, based on the pioneering work of European Space Agency (ESA).

An eight-minute galactic tour, the show has been deisgned to entertain and inspire the next generation of astronauts and engineers.

In collaboration with Dr. Nick Lister of the Lawrence House Astronomy & Space Science Centre, the team visited Rossall School in Fleetwood, asking them to imagine what it would be like to live in space. Their ideas and drawing have been incorporated into the show.

kids-aliens-rehearse.jpg

Enchanted Blackpool

Enchanted Blackpool was created by Cecile Llewelyn-Bowen, the daughter of Illuminations Curator Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen. Cecile is a film-maker and brought designs created by her father to life in this show.

A flurry of cute characters and lavish backdrops delight the show’s main character, a woman who has wandered into this magical world, and she journeys from under the sea and to the opulent Blackpool Tower Ballroom.
 
The ideal viewing area to watch the shows is the Comedy Carpet – the area of the Promenade in front of The Tower. So, when the Blackpool Illuminations are back on, get out of your car, stroll along the promenade beneath the Illuminations and then enjoy the LightPool experience!‚Äč

Projection Times

Day Dates Start Finish
Friday 07/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Saturday 08/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Sunday 10/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Monday 11/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Tuesday 12/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Wednesday 13/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Thursday 14/09/2018 20:00 22:30
Friday 15/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Saturday 16/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Sunday 17/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Monday 18/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Tuesday 19/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Wednesday 20/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Thursday 21/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Friday 22/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Saturday 23/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Sunday 24/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Monday 25/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Tuesday 26/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Wednesday 27/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Thursday 28/09/2018 19:30 22:30
Fri 29 Sep- Sun 4 Nov Fri 29 Sep- Sun 4 Nov 19:00 22:30