Accreditation explained

At Visit Blackpool we pride ourselves on only promoting accommodation providers who have undergone national assessment. But what exactly does that mean?

VisitEngland or The AA

3st Hotel

             4 star Self Catering

And both companies work to the same set of standards.


Businesses can be assessed under the following categories:

  • Hotel*
  • Budget Hotel
  • Guest Accommodation*
  • Self Catering
  • Serviced apartments
  • Parks*
  • Holiday Villages
  • Hostel*
  • University Campus
  • Individual Caravan
  • Chalet
  • Alternative Accommodation

* Scheme designators are available in these categories to further define the facilities on offer.



Gold and Silver awards are given in recognition of exceptional quality within a property’s star rating or for out performing a star rating. Serviced Accommodation is eligible to receive either a gold or silver award whereas Self Catering and Serviced Apartments are able to achieve gold only.


Breakfast Award

The Breakfast Award is awarded to those businesses achieving exceptionally high scores for the quality of their breakfast



These schemes highlight operators that provide certain facilities or services to welcome specific groups.



The National Accessible Scheme (NAS) rates the accessibility of visitors accommodation and covers three types of impairment, visual, hearing and mobility.